Mojisola Adeyeye

Professor Mojisola Adeyeye

Director General of the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC), Nigeria

Professor Moji Adeyeye is the Director General of the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) in Nigeria, where she has added a strong governance structure and regulatory strengthening to NAFDAC through a disciplined and motivating workforce, updating regulations and guidelines, strengthening the local pharmaceutical companies through international best practices, and encouraging local production. She has brought NAFDAC from insolvency to solvency. She refocused the Agency through a Quality Management System approach and WHO Global Benchmarking to be a Standard Operating Procedure-driven organization that has embraced international standards and best practices. This has resulted in the attainment of ISO 9001-2015 in 2019, WHO Maturity Level 3 (ISO 9004) in 2022 (a recognition as a well-functioning Agency in many regulatory functions), and Prequalification of Lagos Central Drug Control Laboratory in 2023. She changed the culture of NAFDAC to a Customer-focused and Agency-minded establishment in order to safeguard the health of the nation. The Director General is keenly involved in the Lot Release, Post-Approval Safety Monitoring, and Traceability of COVID-19 vaccines, which is focused on the visibility of COVID-19 Vaccines Supply Chain using GS1-driven Technology nationally and continentally. She has initiated research collaboration with several institutions as a means of increasing staff competency and improving regulatory research.

Prof Adeyeye graduated from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nigeria, with a B. Pharm degree in 1976. She obtained her PhD from the University of Georgia, Athens, GA, in Industrial Pharmacy, in 1988.    Prior to assuming the position of Director General of NAFDAC, she was a Professor of Pharmaceutical Manufacturing and Drug Evaluation for thirty years in the USA. She has mentored over 15 PhD and M.S candidates and co-advised 18 graduate students as a research committee member.